Simple Heat Racing System Australian Debut?

May 13, 2019

On the weekend of October 19th and 20th 2019, the South Australian RC Laser State Titles will be run at Mawson Lakes, but this time they will be run under a new scoring format - Simple Heat Racing System (SHRS).


The Simple Heat Racing System (SHRS) is a system which we here in South Australia believe fits better with the ethos of RC Laser sailing than does the current Heat Management System (HMS).

The main difference with using SHRS is that after ranking the whole fleet on day one, for the second day’s sailing each sailor will be locked into either gold or silver fleets. There is no movement between fleets and there will be a trophy for the winners of both fleets. Everyone has something to race for.

How does the Simple Heat Racing System work? 

For the simplicity of this explanation assume we have 20 competitors entered in a two-day competition.

Qualifying Series – On day 1 we conduct of Qualifying Series of 8-10 races. For this series the 20 competitors are randomly divided into two heats (or fleets) of 10 boats, A Heat and B Heat.

The aim of Qualifying Series is to give every competitor the opportunity to sail against every other competitor. To achieve this, all odd place finishers (1,3,5 etc.) in each race remain in the same heat (for the next race), and all even place finishers (2,4,6 etc.) change to the other heat (for the next race). This results in 50% of competitors changing heats after every race.

The other important aspect of the Qualifying Series is that no competitor who finishes a race can receive more than 10 points for that race, compared with the Heat Management System (with A & B Divisions) where the last competitor in B Division receives 20 points.

A Heat and B Heat must complete the same number of races for the Qualifying Series to be completed. 

Finals Series – On day 2 we conduct a Final Series

For this series 10 competitors sail in the Gold Fleet and 10 in the Silver Fleet. 

Say 8 races were sailed in the Qualifying Series, then each competitor will be scored on his/her best 6 races and ranked 1-20. The top ten competitors go to the Gold Heat and the next ten to the Silver Heat.  

There is no movement of competitors between the two heats. They are discrete heats. There are prizes for place-getters in both fleets.

Should this series finish early due to unsuitable weather, there is no requirement that the Gold Heat and the Silver Heat sail the same number of races.

Click here for a full explanation of rules for the SHRS


Category: South Australia
Posted by: ARYA Publicity