• fun, social, competitive
    radio sailing
    radio sailing is fun, social, competitive - it can truly be anything you want it to be.
    Learn more
  • club, state, national & international
    sailing at all levels
    Learn more
  • radio sailing is for everyone
    get into radio sailing at a club near you!
    Learn more

Live Results :    There are no events currently in progress that are publishing live results.

2019 New Zealand IOM Championship

Simple Heat Racing System Australian Debut?

May 13, 2019

On the weekend of October 19th and 20th 2019, the South Australian RC Laser State Titles will be run at Mawson Lakes, but this time they will be run under a new scoring format - Simple Heat Racing System (SHRS).


The Simple Heat Racing System (SHRS) is a system which we here in South Australia believe fits better with the ethos of RC Laser sailing than does the current Heat Management System (HMS).

The main difference with using SHRS is that after ranking the whole fleet on day one, for the second day’s sailing each sailor will be locked into either gold or silver fleets. There is no movement between fleets and there will be a trophy for the winners of both fleets. Everyone has something to race for.

How does the Simple Heat Racing System work? 

For the simplicity of this explanation assume we have 20 competitors entered in a two-day competition.

Qualifying Series – On day 1 we conduct of Qualifying Series of 8-10 races. For this series the 20 competitors are randomly divided into two heats (or fleets) of 10 boats, A Heat and B Heat.

The aim of Qualifying Series is to give every competitor the opportunity to sail against every other competitor. To achieve this, all odd place finishers (1,3,5 etc.) in each race remain in the same heat (for the next race), and all even place finishers (2,4,6 etc.) change to the other heat (for the next race). This results in 50% of competitors changing heats after every race.

The other important aspect of the Qualifying Series is that no competitor who finishes a race can receive more than 10 points for that race, compared with the Heat Management System (with A & B Divisions) where the last competitor in B Division receives 20 points.

A Heat and B Heat must complete the same number of races for the Qualifying Series to be completed. 

Finals Series – On day 2 we conduct a Final Series

For this series 10 competitors sail in the Gold Fleet and 10 in the Silver Fleet. 

Say 8 races were sailed in the Qualifying Series, then each competitor will be scored on his/her best 6 races and ranked 1-20. The top ten competitors go to the Gold Heat and the next ten to the Silver Heat.  

There is no movement of competitors between the two heats. They are discrete heats. There are prizes for place-getters in both fleets.

Should this series finish early due to unsuitable weather, there is no requirement that the Gold Heat and the Silver Heat sail the same number of races.

Click here for a full explanation of rules for the SHRS


Category: South Australia
Posted by: ARYA Publicity

Latest News

2019 A Class WA State Championship
The WA fleet of the A Class met at Jackadder Lake in Woodlands on Sunday August 18 to participate in the 2019 State Championship. Unfortunately, there were a few regulars either away or unable to attend. However, the 6 boats which did arrive formed a pretty competitive fleet.
19 Aug 2019 21:30

ARYA Launches Dedicated Nationals Website
With a total of seven Australian Championship events being held throughout 2020 across a multitude of locations the ARYA has re-launched the nationals website providing details for all events.
19 Aug 2019 20:14

Laser Action in the Sunshine State
The 2019 Queensland State Championship was held at Lake Samsonvale and hosted by Lake Samsonvale Water Sports Association (LSWSA) and it’s duly appointed Race Committee.
18 Aug 2019 06:45

Round 3 of DF65 QLD Interclub Series Gets Big Wind
Round 3 of the 2019 South East Queensland Dragon Force 65 inter-club series between Springfield Lakes and Paradise Radio Yacht Club was held at Emerald Lakes on the Gold Coast on 11 August 2019. PRO on the day was Alan Young who did a fantastic job of running 24 races with the help of David Black (Scorer), Tony Fannin (boat crew), Eran Conza (Observer, Place caller), Ted Mulligan (Observer) and Brian Laden (Starter Box operator).
12 Aug 2019 19:18

Awesome Weekend on the Sunshine Coast
The inaugural running of the Sunshine Coast International One Metre Regatta was held at Lake Kawana on the Sunshine Coast, Queensland on 2nd, 3rd and 4th August.
05 Aug 2019 09:58

Tough Gig at Yarrawonga
No wind, a bit of weed and a fleet featuring Australia’s best lead to a tough regatta at Yarrawonga over the weekend of 27-28 July for the Victorian IOM State Championship.
29 Jul 2019 18:44

2019 Perth Classic
The 2019 Perth Classic regatta was held on an overcast winter's day in July. Thirteen skippers participated in shifty winds at the top of A rig.
22 Jul 2019 20:20


Australian Rankings (Top 10)

Our top sailors of each class

International One Metre

1. Sean Wallis (WA)
2. Paul Jones (NSW)
3. Scott Fleming (VIC)
4. Ross Bennett (WA)
5. Lindsay Walker (NSW)
6. Aaron Farrar (QLD)
7. Doug Allen (QLD)
8. Robert Mews (WA)
9. Tim Brown (QLD)
10. Edgar Vitte (WA)
International Marblehead

1. Scott Mitchell (SA)
2. Ray Joyce (TAS)
3. Kirwan Robb (VIC)
4. Scott Condie (NSW)
5. Paul Littledyke (SA)
6. Brett Osborn (SA)
7. Andrew Reid (VIC)
8. Scott Fleming (VIC)
9. Jason Nasmith (QLD)
10. Trevor Fisher (QLD)
International Ten Rater

1. Scott Condie (NSW)
2. S. Sedgeman (ACT)
3. Ross Bennett (WA)
4. Owen Jarvis (NSW)
5. Andrew Reid (VIC)
6. Phil Page (NSW)
7. Roger Paul (WA)
8. Mark Newman (ACT)
9. Kirwin Robb (Vic)
10. Ben Taylor (NSW)

International A Class

1. Brian Dill (NSW)
2. Warren Norrie (NSW)
3. Roger Paul (WA)
4. Denton Roberts (WA)
5. Selwyn Holland (NSW)
6. Ralph Hyman (NSW)
7. L. Hinchcliff (QLD)
8. Glenn Dawson (WA)
9. Simon Ellis (WA)
10. Gary Taylor (QLD)
DragonForce65 (DF65)

Ranking information
currently unavailable.
DragonFlite95 (DF95)

Ranking information
currently unavailable.