Nail Biting Finish to IOM Championship

Feb 16, 2019

Going into the final day Sean Wallis held a slim lead of just 6.3 points ahead of Paul Jones, this was narrowed to 3.3 points by lunch as the championship was to be fought out between the pair.

Wind conditions were slightly lighter than previous days with a mix of A & B rigs for the earlier races however the course still remained challenging with the onshore breeze and gusts which swept across the course at regular intervals. As the day progressed more and more skippers chose the B rig as the preferred option although there continued to be some who felt the A rig was the better choice until a gust hit and the bow went down.

Wallis started the day well with a third in the first race of the day (race 14) while Jones scored a seventh and the lead stretched out. The second race of the day (race 15) saw a costly mistake by Jones who, after leading the race, sailed to the wrong mark for the leg to the finish allowing Wallis to take the win while he finished fifth further stretching the Wallis lead. At this stage it was still far from over, with Jones fighting back with a vengence in race 16 and taking the win while Wallis had a poor performance picking up a 9th and with the additional drop kicking in the lead was shattered to 3.3 points.

At the same time a tussle had developed for third overall with WA's Roger Paul closing to just two points behind SA's Scott Mitchell and as the wind dropped for race 17 and became significantly shifty the pair struggled resulting in both ending up in B fleet for race 18. Jones and Wallis also found this race difficult and found themselves well behind the leaders however it was Wallis who had the edge over Jones to finish with a 7th while Jones finished 16th and fell to B fleet also.

With the final race to be sailed Wallis had a lead of 10.3 points which was enough to secure the championship. Jones came through B fleet and won the final race with Wallis finishing 7th but claiming the championship.

Third place was decided with Roger Paul failing to return from B fleet leaving Mitchell to take third overall while Brad Johnston slipped through to fourth and Paul finished fifth.

Race winners for the day were Mike Freebairn (R14), Sean Wallis (R15), Paul Jones (R16/R18) and Doug Allen (R17).


Presentation Function


L-R: Paul Jones (2nd), Brad Johnston (4th & Master), Roger Paul (5th), Peter Burford (Grand Master), Sean Wallis (1st), Scott Mitchell (3rd)


Sean Wallis, 2019 Australian Champion in International One Metre yachts.  Wallis has put the hard yards into preparing for the event when he traveled from WA to to compete in and win the QLD State Chamionship in September 2018.  Clearly the dedication has been rewarded


Ron Fawcett (2nd from L) and Ian Lobley (3rd from L) accepting the George Middleton Trophy for the most valuable contribution to Radio Sailing in the National Championship host State.  Presented by Col Cameron, President QRYA (L) and Andrew Reid President ARYA (R).


Click here for detailed results
PosNameSail No.DesignClubNettTotal
1WALLIS, SeanAUS 71V10 LECLRSC61.7100.7
2JONES, PaulAUS 48K2LMRYC65.0141.0
3MITCHELL, ScottAUS 52BritpopARCYRC92.0147.0
4JOHNSTON, BradAUS 87Britpop!PRYC109.0176.0
5PAUL, RogerAUS 76V10PRSC109.0186.0
6PEDRICK, GeorgeUSA 150V10NBRCSC115.0205.0
7FLEMING, ScottAUS 53Plan BPLRMYC117.0186.0
8BENNETT, RossAUS 39V10 LEHWRS122.0338.0
9FREEBAIRN, MikeAUS 16SediciWMRMYC137.0192.0
10MEWS, RobertAUS 41V10CLRSC138.0219.0
11COOPER, GrantAUS 20V10GRCYC147.0249.0
12HICKMAN, MichaelAUS 45V10RBRYC162.0255.0
13PRYDE, PhilipNZL 23V10sNMMS164.0259.0
14ALLEN, DougAUS 72V10CKRY166.0244.5
15WALKER, LindsayAUS 02K2KBRYC185.0270.0
16FARRAR, AaronAUS 34BritPoPGRCYC185.0260.0
17BROWN, TimAUS 07SediciTTRYC193.0269.0
18REID, AndrewAUS 74BritpopAPMYC196.0301.0
19VITTE, EdgarAUS 50V10PRSC209.0308.0
20WILSON, AndrewAUS 187V10WMRMYC260.0381.0
21GOWER, JohnAUS 63V10PRYC262.0370.0
22SIBUN, NigelNZL 100Kantun 2NMMS269.0379.0
23JOHNSON, PaulNZL 04V10PRSC272.3360.3
24BUCHANAN, PeterAUS 115Britpop!HWRS302.0414.0
25RUSSELL, FrankAUS 75Ellipsis...CKRY310.0410.6
26KEAVY, WayneAUS 11v10KBRYC311.0434.0
27SHERWOOD, PeterAUS 27V10WMRMYC371.0539.0
28RUSSELL, GarryAUS 01K2CKRY380.0505.0
29NOWAK, RobAUS 17BritpopAPMYC389.0564.0
30MORRIS, GeoffreyAUS 96Kantun 2CKRY405.0544.0
31IRVINE, RobertAUS 44Fraktal 2TTRYC415.0586.0
32GRAY, RussellAUS 99BritPopWMRMYC420.0566.0
33GENTLES, MichAUS 121K2PRYC426.0571.0
34GULIC, MarioAUS 175Scharming XVaPLRMYC436.3586.3
35EDGAR, BruceNZL 93V10PRSC452.0597.0
36MITCHELL, KimAUS 174KMRFCRYC487.0659.0
37MITCHELL, PeterAUS 194ChaseARCYRC488.0653.0
38KAMPE, PeterAUS 90Tic TocWMRMYC500.0686.0
39CAMERON, ColinAUS 92Goth Evo 7TMMC521.1680.1
40NEWMAN, MarkAUS 60BritpopCMYC526.0701.0
41HINCHCLIFF, LaurieAUS 152PLAN BPRYC539.0695.0
42WARNE, DerickAUS 97Britpop CKRY552.0700.0
43BURFORD, PeterAUS 15Plan BPRYC564.3730.3
44PAYN, GrahamAUS 89V8LMRYC573.0764.0
45SPENCER, RossAUS 82BritPop!KBRYC577.0761.0
46WOOD, WarickAUS 128TNTPRYC598.0759.0
47HARRADINE, RichardAUS 84FusionTTRYC604.0765.0
48NEWMAN, PeterAUS 165V10KBRYC621.0792.0
49WILSON, RayAUS 151K2WMRMYC623.0809.0
50ELLIS, SimonAUS 05V10PRSC645.0838.0
51WILSON, MarkAUS 66V9LMRYC645.0841.0
52WILSON, AndrewAUS 08CorbieBRYC681.0865.0
53QUIGGIN, BradAUS 117V10LMRYC740.0956.0
54HARRIS, Eugenia_(Gene)USA 57V9NBRCSC745.0933.0
55WATSON, MartyAUS 120Blitz#2GRCYC748.0958.0
56MARTIN, PaulAUS 29V9WHMBC752.0968.0
57NEEDHAM, JohnAUS 171Fraktal 2TTRYC758.0974.0
58CLANCY, BillAUS 00NITROPRYC773.0989.0
59OBRIEN, RobertAUS 28TbaPLRMYC795.01,003.0
60LINDSLEY, NickAUS 40BLITZ 4MRYS801.01,017.0
61PRYOR, KenAUS 73V9PRYC807.01,023.0
62MEIKLE, RobertAUS 197BritPop!MRYS810.01,008.0
63SMITH, PeterAUS 10Plan BPLRMYC812.01,017.0
64SMITH, RickAUS 184V8BRYC813.01,019.0
65MEE, JimmyAUS 172V10WMRMYC837.01,046.0
66BESSELL, AlanAUS 37Plan BARCYRC842.01,047.0
67WELLS, DougAUS 160PikantoPRYC851.01,067.0
68WALLIS, NormanAUS 192TNTARCYRC853.01,069.0
69BROWN, PhilipAUS 21Britpop!GRCYC909.01,125.0
70CAMPBELL, StewartAUS 14PikantoKRYC957.01,173.0
71SEDGMEN, StephenAUS 30V10CMYC1,022.01,238.0

Category: Australia
Posted by: ARYA Publicity