Jackman Storms Home To Claim DF95 Title

Mar 22, 2022

It was a late charge on the final day by Tasmanian Rod Jackman to claim the 2022 DF95 Australian Championship held at Montrose Bay, TAS over 13-15 March.

The 2022 ARYA DF95 National Championship has concluded, and what a last day. Some great, close racing, with some tight results in the end.

We started this morning with a dreary, overcast day, with a very slight ESE wind, that varied to the SE later on. Never exceedng 8 knots all day. With such light wind, it was nice that the weed experienced in previous days was mostly not on the course.


Given a good run over the first two days, we had an allotted maximum of 14 races for today, and got there with half an hour to spare (good timing). The light conditions probably suited the local fleet, who had a bit of experience with the wind shifts and current flows at the point.

Six races were completed to lunch time, giving another 8 to go for the day. Peter Newman was in control, but not out of reach in first place, were Chris Wood and Rod Jackman 10 and 12 points adrift. Maybe the next drop at race 40 would have a say in the championship?

In the afternoon, the breeze lightened to just a few knots, and the drizzle set in, just for some extra for the competitors (and poor John, who did the rock wall ascent/descent for yacht handling to and from the water).

By the time the 40 were completed, there were some very weary competitors and volunteers, all too keen to get back to the bar for a dry off and social beverage before end results were announced.

df95winnersIn the end, the local experience combined with great sailing proved too valuable, with Rod Jackman (TAS) storming home late, to win the 2022 DF95 Championship on 156 points. Close behind in second, was Chris Wood (Tas), just 5 behind, on 161 points. Taking third place in the championship was Peter Newman (Vic) on 168 points, just 7 adrift from Chris. A very closely fought set of races for the championship places.

Congratulatons to all competitors for a great 6 day event (DF65 & DF95). It was sailed in great spirit, with the competitiveness expected at a national regatta. On behalf of Risdon Brook Radio Yacht Club, we hope you enjoyed your stay in Tasmania, and that you enjoyed your time, both socially and on the race course. 

We have also had so many support volunteers - please accept my humble apologies if I missed any of you. Our Race Officers - Michael Hickman (DF65) and Jeff Byerley (DF95). Thank you for your efforts in getting us to our 40 race limits as well as setting the courses in what has been some challenging conditions. John Hall, Andrew Wardrop and Les Hanson. These men volunteered for the entire six days. A massive effort. Catering, scoring, boat lauching/retrieval. John Short, Rod Marshall, Rod Jackman, Stuart Dawes all volunteered on the rescue boat, which was invaluable for weed checks and buoy movements - as well as observer duties. Anne Cole Cook and Ken Dobbie for their shore based work with scoring, as well as protest co-ordinator. Peter Germein and Ray Joyce with catering assistance and photographic dutes. Phil Brooke, a member of MBYC, who donated a day of his time for the rescue boat duties.

Thank you so much for volunteering your services. The event would not happen without the type of generousity you have given to the club. We do hope that all competitors and volunteers have enjoyed the 2022 National Championships and hope to see as many of you as possible again in the next installment of the DF Championships next year.



PosName/ClubSail No.NettTotal
1Rod Jackman
AUS 127156.0242.0
2Chris Wood
AUS 40161.0237.0
3Peter Newman
AUS 63168.0262.0
4Richard Fisher
AUS 272173.0263.0
5Mathew Gray
AUS 19184.0277.0
6Michael Hickman
AUS 45191.0273.0
7Phil Burgess
AUS 801227.0324.0
8Ray Joyce
AUS 57235.0326.0
9Steven Findlay
AUS 750285.0388.0
10Kyle Stewart
AUS 59289.0381.0
11Phil Jackman
AUS 37322.0420.0
12Lisa Blackwood
AUS 35327.0441.0
13John Wyatt
AUS 36338.0435.0
14Stuart Dawes
AUS 39377.0491.0
15Paul Martin
AUS 08402.0509.0
16Philip Turnbull
AUS 261416.0521.0
17Peter Ross
AUS 887462.0576.0
18David Jones
AUS 23558.0672.0

Category: Australia
Posted by: ARYA Publicity