Awesome Weekend on the Sunshine Coast

Aug 5, 2019

The inaugural running of the Sunshine Coast International One Metre Regatta was held at Lake Kawana on the Sunshine Coast, Queensland on 2nd, 3rd and 4th August.

\Queensland\SC1This event is the first Regatta held by the newly formed Sunshine Coast Radio Sailing Club. The Regatta is a ranking event sanctioned by the ARYA and was Round 3 of the QRYA Grand Prix Series. The Regatta will be held annually in August to take advantage of the Sunshine Coast’s warm winter weather and reliable breezes.

Friday 2nd August

Weather:- SE 8-12 knots with gusts to 16 knots

The racing commenced with 29 starters on the line with 6 of those being from New Zealand.

PRO Garry MacMahon set 2 fleets with 17 competitors on each line. The transition from A to B was set at 6 up and 6 down for each race.

The weather was sometimes fresh and reliable and allowed for 8 ‘A’ and ‘B’ races to be sailed on the first day.  A rigs were the order of the day with a small smattering of ‘B’s popping up at times.

The racing was surprisingly close throughout the day. The wind played a big part in the results causing numerous nose-dives downwind and proving to be extremely unpredictable at the top end of the course.

After the first day the usual suspects were at the pointy end of the fleet with Paul Jones ahead of Sean Wallis by 2 points with Aaron Farrar, who was on fire at the end of the day, a close 8 points further back.

Also in the mix for the podium were Graham Clough from NZ and two locals Doug Allen and Frank Russell.

With two days to go there was plenty of time for the following pack to make a move on the leader board.


The day started out with Jones and Wallis showing the way with wins in the seeding races however after 4 races two Kiwis Rob Nelson and Graham Clough were pressing hard. As the day progressed, the competitors settled into the racing and several other sailors recorded consistent results moving them into contention. At the end of Day 1, only 15 points separated the top 5 with a further 10 boats in close striking distance.

Link to Day 1 photos here

Saturday 3rd August

Weather -South 6 – 8 knots going SE 4 – 6 knots

It was moving day on Saturday for the top 3 yachts. Jones, Wallis and Farrar separated themselves from the chasing pack by a margin of 30 points.

There were 9 races completed on Saturday with 5 different race winners.

Farrar continued his red hot form from Friday by winning three of the first four races of the day to take a two point lead from Jones for the first time in the Regatta with Wallis a further 8 points in arrears. Jones failed to win a race on Saturday but still compiled a fine Regatta points tally for the day. In the remaining 5 races of the day he recorded 2 second places and two third places which set up a 12 point lead over both Wallis and Farrar who were equal on 56 points after 17 races.

\Queensland\SC3Sunday 4th August

Weather – Variable light breeze from everywhere settling to 4–6 knot ESE.

The final day started out with the top 5 competitors finishing first to fifth in the first race of the day. This laid the groundwork for the rest of the day. Paul Jones, who didn’t win a race on Saturday, was obviously saving them up for Sunday. Of the seven races completed on the final day, Jones won 5 of them. Of the other two races he had to settle for second places. With 4 races to go both Sean Wallis and Aaron Farrar had to fight it out for the minor podium places. Wallis pocketed the Silver by winning the final race of the Regatta leaving Farrar to take the Bronze. Another close battle was fought out for 4th and 5th between the local Doug Allen and Rob Nelson from over the ditch. Nelson won that particular battle.

Trophies presented were for the new Perpetual Trophy and placegetters, the inaugural Bledisail Cup between teams from NZ and Oz and numerous other minor specialty trophies.

The Bledisail Cup was won for once by the Oz team narrowly on 191.3 points and New Zealand on 226.8 points. (Detemined by the lowest average points score of the best four sailors results from each country with teams selected to be as equally matched as possible.)

The Sunshine Coast International One Metre Regatta Results:

1st        Paul Jones      47 points
2nd       Sean Wallis    70 points
3rd       Aaron Farrar  77 points

In appreciation for the event Westhaven Radio Sailing Club presented four chairs to four Aussies whose names were drawn out of a hat. Well done to our Kiwi friends. Great tribute and we really look forward to a large contingent from NZ next year!!

Acknowledgement must be given to the club members of the Sunshine Coast Club for their support and hard work to make the event one of the premier sailing events on the Queensland and Australian calendar!

Special thanks to Ian Lobley and Garry Russell from the QRYA Committee for giving a day each to record video to assist publisise this event and the sport of radio sailing.

Videos can be found here on the QRYA Youtube Channel.

Report by Geoffrey Morris


Click here for detailed results
PosNameSail No.DesignClubNettTotal
1JONES, PaulAUS 48K2LMRYC47.089.0
2WALLIS, SeanAUS 71V10CLRSC70.0113.0
3FARRAR, AaronAUS 34BritpopGRCYC77.0117.0
4NELSON, RobNZL 27NitroWRS123.0193.0
5ALLEN, DougAUS 72V10SCRSC127.0191.0
6WALKER, AllanAUS 26BritpopPRYC166.0247.0
7WILSON, AndrewAUS 187V10WMRMYC178.0268.0
8CLOUGH, GrahamNZL 81V10GHRYC185.0276.0
9SHERWOOD, PeterAUS 127V10WMRMYC188.0305.0
10RUSSELL, FrankAUS 75Ellipsis...SCRSC204.0288.0
11FITZGERALD, GlenAUS 170V10SCRSC205.0296.0
12BROWN, TimAUS 07SediciTTRYC211.7311.7
13GRAY, RussellAUS 99BritpopWMRMYC225.0309.0
14JACOBSEN, PeterNZL 470NitroWRS249.0337.0
15TAYLOR, BenAUS 70Titan LMRYC250.0345.0
16PAGE, PhilAUS 50EllipsisNMRS260.0380.0
17WARNE, DerickAUS 97BritpopSCRSC279.0382.0
18HINCHCLIFF, LaurieAUS 152Plan BPRYC279.0378.0
19KEAVY, WayneAUS 11V10KBRYC311.0431.0
20SPENCER, RossAUS 13V10LEKBRYC317.0426.0
21PAYN, GrahamAUS 89V8LMRYC334.0434.0
22MITCHELL, KimAUS 42v10FCRYC345.0455.0
23GRANT, ChrisNZL 939MojoWRS350.0449.0
24WILSON, AndrewAUS 08CorbieBRYC360.7467.7
25ROBERTS, GarryNZL 67NitroWRS367.0478.0
26MCAULAY, JohnAUS 164MojoSCRSC394.0497.0
27GOWER, JohnAUS 63V10PRYC475.0595.0
28SHOEBRIDGE, TrevorNZL 62NitroWRS501.0621.0
29JONES, DavidAUS 134V10RBRYC557.0677.0

Category: Queensland
Posted by: ARYA Publicity